# If You're Old Enough to Vote, Why Can't You Have a Drink at 18?

The "21 law" is not based on responsibility, but on human physiology:

- Young people who use alcohol before age 21 are far more likely to have alcohol-related problems later in life.
- The brain of an 18-year-old is not fully developed. The brain doesn't finish its development until a person's early 20s. During its development, your brain is very vulnerable to alcohol.
- Teenagers who drink heavily may lose as much as 10% of their brainpower the difference between passing and failing in school...and in life.

Making it illegal for youth under 21 to drink prevents almost 1,000 traffic deaths each year.

The consequences of drinking outweigh the experience...so why roll the dice?



## For More Information About Underage Drinking, Visit...

www.daodas.org/underage\_drinking.asp

This brochure was created by the South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services.

Sponsored in part by the Office of Highway Safety of the South Carolina Department of Public Safety.

Funding made available by EUDL Grant #2008 AH FX 0010.

Current South Carolina Laws Related to Youth and Alcohol

# Know the Rules Before You Play the Game



# Possessing or Providing Alcohol

If you are under 21, it's illegal to:

- Possess;
- Consume:
- Purchase; or
- Attempt to Purchase

beer, wine or liquor.

If you do, you could have to:

- Pay a fine of \$265 to \$470 and/or go to jail for up to 30 days for a first offense.
- Lose your driver's license for 120 days for a first offense and one year for a second or subsequent offense.
- Complete an alcohol prevention/ intervention/education program.

If you **give** beer, wine or liquor to anyone who is also under the age of 21, you could have to:

- Pay a fine of \$470 to \$677.50 and/or go to jail for up to 30 days for a first offense.
- Pay a fine of \$885 to \$1,092.50 and/or go to jail for up to 30 days for a second or subsequent offense.

If you work in a store, restaurant or bar and sell alcohol to someone under 21:

• You'll face the same penalties as providing alcohol for free, plus you'll have to complete an approved merchant-education program.

\* All fines include court costs.

# Are You a College Student or Planning to Go to College?

Two violations of any alcohol- or other drug-related laws can also cause you to lose your state-funded grants and/or scholarships (like the LIFE Scholarship) for one year.

# **New Keg Law**

All kegs in South Carolina must have a store-issued tag. If you remove or damage a keg tag or possess a keg without a tag, you might have to pay a fine of up to \$1,092.50 and/or go to jail for up to 30 days.

### Lying and Fake IDs

If you use an altered driver's license or ID card containing false information or use someone else's license or personal ID card:

- Pay a fine of up to \$100 or go to jail for up to 30 days.
- Lose your driver's license for 120 days for a first offense, and one year for a second or subsequent offense.

If you lie or provide false information about your age to purchase beer, wine or liquor:

- Pay a fine of \$262.50 to \$470 and/or go to jail for up to 30 days.
- Lose your driver's license for 120 days for a first offense and one year for a second or subsequent offense.

If you **lend your license or personal ID card** to any other person:

• Pay a fine of up to \$470 or go to jail for

up to 30 days *and* lose your license for 120 days.

• Pay a fine of up to \$1,092.50 or go to jail for up to six months *and* lose your license for one year for a second or subsequent offense.

If you sell or issue a false driver's license or alter a driver's license:

- Pay a fine of up to \$5,250 or go to jail for up to six months *or both*.
- Lose your license for 120 days for a first offense, and one year for a second or subsequent offense.

If you possess an altered or invalid driver's license or personal ID card:

- Pay a fine of up to \$470 or go to jail for up to 30 days for a first offense.
- Pay a fine of up to \$1,092.50 or go to jail for up to six months for a second or subsequent offense.

# **Priving and Public Prinking**

The following violations carry stiff penalties:

Driving a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs and causing death to any other person (considered a felony).

Having an open container of beer or wine in a moving vehicle of any kind, except in the trunk or luggage compartment.

Driving a motor vehicle with a BAC of .02% or higher if you are under the age of 21. (Don't think you can get around this by refusing a BAC test. Simply refusing the test can cause you to lose your license or be denied the right to obtain a license for six months to one year.)

Being grossly intoxicated on any highway or at any public place or public gathering.

Consuming alcoholic liquor in a public conveyance.