dor.sc.gov

# STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

#### **ABL-901 CHECKLIST**

ABL-901C

(Rev. 10/25/19) 4368

#### YOU MUST MEET THE 30 DAY REQUIREMENT LISTED BELOW OR YOUR APPLICATION WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.

### You are only eligible to apply if:

- Sole Proprietorship: You've been a resident of South Carolina for at least 30 days.
- General Partnership: Partners have been residents of South Carolina for at least 30 days.
- Corporation, Limited Liability Corporation (LLC), Limited Liability Partnerships (LLP): Entity has been registered with the South Carolina Secretary of State (SCSOS) for at least 30 days.

Submit all of the following documents for any entity type:
1. Completed application, signed, dated, and notarized
2. Nonrefundable filing fees
• \$300 beer and wine
• \$200 liquor
3. Completed ABL-946 for each principal
4. Completed ABL-920 for each principal
5. Criminal record check (CRC) for all principals that is less than 90 days old. Request a CRC from the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) at www.sled.sc.gov or mail the completed CRC form and proper payment to SLED Records Department, PO Box 21398, Columbia, SC 29221-1398. If the principal has lived in SC for less than two years, the statewide CRC must be submitted from the previous state of residency and from SLED. If principal is not a SC resident, the statewide CRC must be submitted from the current state of residency. Attach a disposition for any charge that does not list the court charge.
6. The ad receipt or ad affidavit from the approved newspaper listed on the ABL-32. The ad cannot be more than 90 days old from the last publication date.
Additional required documents (does not apply to sole proprietor):
Corporation
Articles of Incorporation issued by the SCSOS
<ul> <li>Foreign Corporation</li> <li>Certificate of Authority to do Business in South Carolina issued from the SCSOS</li> </ul>
LLC
<ul> <li>Articles of Organization issued by the SCSOS and the LLC Operating Agreement or ABL-919</li> </ul>
LLP
Articles of Organization issued by the SCSOS and the Partnership Agreement
Additional required documents for 120 temporary license and/or permit:
a. Sales Retail License Number. Apply online at MyDORWAY.dor.sc.gov or call SCDOR at 1-844-898-8542 if you don't have your number.
b. A fee of \$25 for each temporary license and/or permit and an additional \$5 certification fee if applying for a Temporary Liquor by the Drink or Retail Liquor Store License
c. Completed ABL-977 or a copy of your lease, deed, or tax bill. If subleased, provide a copy of the assignment of lease.
d. The valid, original biennial license and/or permit for the business, which is in good standing with the SCDOR
<ul> <li>e. The current Grade A DHEC inspection for the existing business if applying for a Liquor by the Drink License. You can obtain a copy at apps.dhec.sc.gov/Environment/FoodGrades/</li> </ul>
Before approval you will be required to submit:
License and/or permit fees
<ul> <li>A certificate of coverage (Accord 25) of at least \$1 million of liquor liability insurance or general liability insurance</li> </ul>

with a liquor liability endorsement

## STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

# GENERAL INFORMATION FOR BEER, WINE, AND LIQUOR APPLICATIONS

ABL-901 Instructions (Rev. 7/23/19) 4386

dor.sc.gov

The information provided is for general guidance only. It should not be considered, or substituted for legal advice. The SCDOR's staff will not provide legal advice. Read the laws, regulations, and applicable court decisions carefully before applying.

Applications take at least six to eight weeks to process. If the application is denied by the SCDOR this process will be delayed. All applications that are denied or have been protested are subject to a hearing with the Administrative Law Court.

#### Mail application to:

SCDOR, ABL Section, PO Box 125, Columbia, SC 29214-0907

#### Applicable laws:

Beer, wine, and alcoholic liquors are governed by SC Code of Laws Title 61, Chapters 2, 4, and 6, Title 12 Chapters 21 and 33, Title 20 Chapter 7, and Title 33 Chapter 42. Find regulations in Chapter 7 of the Code of Regulations. Laws and regulations are available at **dor.sc.gov/policy**. All applicable legal statutes and regulations are not included in this application.

#### **GENERAL QUALIFICATIONS**

#### A. Qualifications of applicants for all license types:

- 1. All principals, officers, and employees must be at least 21 years old, be of good moral character, be a legal resident of or have legal authority to be in the United States, and must be a legal resident of South Carolina for 30 days prior to submitting an application to the SCDOR.
- 2. The applicant must be the owner of the business seeking the license.
- 3. The applicant must not have had a beer and wine permit revoked within the last two years or liquor license revoked within the last five years.
- 4. The proposed business can apply for a Sales Retail License for \$50 at **dor.sc.gov/register**. If you will be charging admission, apply for a free Admissions Tax License at **dor.sc.gov/register**.
- 5. Check with the city and county authorities to ensure you are in compliance with zoning laws and local business license requirements.

#### B. Tax liabilities:

A license and/or permit cannot be issued if the applicant or any principals have any outstanding tax liabilities with the SCDOR.

#### C. Sign posting:

- 1. A SLED agent will post and remove a sign at the proposed place of business.
- 2. This sign must remain posted for 15 days. It can only be removed by the SLED agent. If the sign is removed by anyone other than the SLED Agent, contact the SCDOR or SLED immediately.

#### D. Newspaper advertisements:

- 1. A Notice of Application must be placed at least once a week for three consecutive weeks in a newspaper approved by the SCDOR for the proposed business.
- 2. The notice must:
  - a. be in the legal notices section of the newspaper or an equivalent section if the newspaper has no legal notices section;
  - b. be in large type, covering a space of one column wide and at least two inches deep; and
  - c. state the type of license and/or permit applied for and the exact location of the proposed business. An applicant applying for both a Beer and Wine Permit and a Liquor License may use the same advertisement for both if the SCDOR approves the advertisement.
- 3. The ad receipt from the approved newspaper must be submitted before the application can be processed.
- 4. The Affidavit of Publication must be submitted and approved by the SCDOR before a license and/or permit can be issued.
- 5. If applying as a sole proprietor, the ad must run in the owner's name. If applying as a corporation, the ad must run in the corporation's name. Ads that are run in trade names (doing business as) will be denied.

#### SAMPLE ADVERTISEMENT

#### NOTICE OF APPLICATION

Notice is hereby given that	_intends to apply to the South Carolina Department of Revenue
(legal entity name or sole proprietor)	
for a license and/or permit that will allow the sale and	premises consumption of
(on/off)	(beer, wine, and/or liquor)
at	To object to the issuance of this license and/or permit, written
(exact street address, city, state and ZIP)	
protest must be postmarked no later than	
(16 days from the date o	f the publication of the first advertisement)

For a protest to be valid, it must be in writing and should include the following information:

- 1. the name, address, and telephone number of the person filing the protest;
- 2. the specific reasons why the application should be denied;
- 3. that the person protesting is willing to attend a hearing (if one is requested by the applicant);
- 4. that the person protesting resides in the same county where the proposed place of business is located or within five miles of the business; and,
- 5. the name of the applicant and the address of the premises to be licensed.

Protests must be mailed to SCDOR, ABL Section, PO Box 125, Columbia, SC 29214-0907 or faxed to 803-896-0110.

#### E. Finding the correct newspaper to publish your advertisement:

- 1. Refer to the Approved Newspaper for ABL Legal Advertisement (ABL-32) to determine the approved newspaper for the city or county where the proposed business is located.
- 2. If the city is not listed, the county newspaper must be used. If the wrong newspaper is used, the ad will have to rerun in the approved newspaper. The newspapers that are approved for the county are directly below the county and are in bold print.
- 3. If your business is located in the city, the newspapers that are approved for the city are directly below the city that is in italic print.

If you are unsure, contact the ABL section at 803-898-5864 before placing the ad in the newspaper.

#### **Example:**

Orangeburg County Times & Democrat HOLLY HILL Holly Hill Observer SANTEE Santee Striper If your business is located in Elloree, a city in Orangeburg County, which is **not** listed under **Orangeburg County**, publish your advertisement in the *Times & Democrat*.

If your business is located Santee, a city, which **is** listed under the city of Santee for **Orangeburg County**, publish your advertisement in the *Santee Striper* or *Times & Democrat*.

### Approved Newspapers for ABL Legal Advertisements

ABL-32 (Rev. 9/6/19)

- Abbeville County Press & Banner
- Aiken County
   Aiken Standard
   The State
   NORTH AUGUSTA
   The Star
- Allendale County People-Sentinel
- Anderson County Independent Mail BELTON News Chronicle HONEA PATH News Chronicle PELZER The Journal PIEDMONT The Journal WILLIAMSTON The Journal
- Bamberg County Advertizer-Herald
- Barnwell County People-Sentinel
- Beaufort County Beaufort Gazette Bluffton Today Island Packet
- Berkeley County
   Berkeley Independent
   Post & Courier
   GOOSE CREEK
   Goose Creek Gazette
   NORTH CHARLESTON
   North Charleston News
   SUMMERVILLE
   Summerville Journal-Scene
- Calhoun County Calhoun Times Leader
- Charleston County
   Post & Courier
   NORTH CHARLESTON
   North Charleston News
   SUMMERVILLE
   Summerville Journal-Scene
- Cherokee County Gaffney Ledger Spartanburg Herald GAFFNEY Cherokee Chronicle Gaffney Ledger BLACKSBURG Gaffney Ledger
- Chester County News & Reporter

- Chesterfield County
   The Link
   Chesterfield News & Shopper
   CHERAW
   The Link
   JEFFERSON
   Progressive Journal
   MT. CROGHAN
   Progressive Journal
   PAGELAND
   Progressive Journal
- Clarendon County Manning Times The Item (Sumter)
- Colleton County Press & Standard Post & Courier The Colletonian
- Darlington County News & Press HARTSVILLE Hartsville Messenger
- Dillon County The Dillon Herald
- Dorchester County
   Post & Courier
   ST GEORGE
   Eagle-Record
   SUMMERVILLE
   Summerville Journal-Scene
- Edgefield County Edgefield Advertiser
- Fairfield County
   The Voice of Fairfield County
   The State
- Florence County Morning News News Journal
- Georgetown County Georgetown Times PAWLEYS ISLAND Coastal Observer
- Greenville County
  Greenville Journal
  Greenville News
  GREER
  Greer Citizen
  PIEDMONT
  The Journal
  SIMPSONVILLE
  Tribune Times
  TRAVELERS REST
  Travelers Rest Monitor
- Greenwood County Index Journal WARE SHOALS Observer

- Hampton County Hampton Guardian
- Horry County
  Sun News
  CONWAY
  The Horry Independent
  GARDEN CITY/MURRELS INLET
  Myrtle Beach Herald
  LORIS
  Loris Scene
  MYRTLE BEACH/SURF SIDE
  BEACH
  Myrtle Beach Herald
  NORTH MYRTLE BEACH
  North Myrtle Beach Times
- Jasper County Jasper County Sun Times
- Kershaw County Chronicle Independent The State
- Lancaster County Lancaster News KERSHAW Kershaw News-Era
- Laurens County
   The Advertizer
   The Clinton Chronicle
- Lee County Lee County Observer
- Lexington County
   The State
   Free Times
   BATESBURG-LEESVILLE
   Twin City News
   CHAPIN
   Lake Murray News
   IRMO
   New Irmo News
   LEXINGTON
   Chronicle and Dispatch News
   ST ANDREWS
   New Irmo News
- Marion County
   Marion Star/Mullins Enterprise
- Marlboro County Herald-Advocate
- McCormick County
   McCormick Messenger
- Newberry County Newberry Observer

- Oconee County The Journal
- Orangeburg County Times & Democrat HOLLY HILL Holly Hill Observer SANTEE Santee Striper
- Pickens County Sentinel Progress Greenville News CLEMSON The Journal
- Richland County
  The State
  Free Times
  Columbia Star Reporter
  BLYTHEWOOD
  The Country Chronicle
  IRMO
  New Irmo News
- Saluda County
   Standard-Sentinel
- Spartanburg County Herald-Journal LANDRUM News Leader
- Sumter County The Item
- Union County Union Times
- Williamsburg County The News
- York County Herald FORT MILL Fort Mill Times



#### STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

#### ABL PERMIT/LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

ABL-975 (Rev. 5/15/19) 4589

#### **BEER AND WINE PERMIT DEFINITIONS**

#### Off-Premises Beer and Wine Permit (PBG):

Authorizes the sale of beer and wine "to go" only.

#### On-Premises Beer and Wine Permit (PBW):

Authorizes the sale of beer and wine "to go" and consumption on the licensed premises.

#### 7-Day On-Premises Beer and Wine Permit (PO7):

Authorizes the sale of beer and wine "to go" and consumption on the licensed premises, seven days a week. If you are not planning to sell "to go" on Sunday, apply for the PBW. Only issued in counties and municipalities that have passed a referendum allowing Sunday sales of beer and wine and has been approved for Sunday sales of alcoholic liquors, authorized by SC Code Section 61-6-2010.

#### 7-Day Off-Premises Beer and Wine Permit (P7B):

Authorizes the sale of beer "to go" only, seven days a week, with no restrictions on hours of sale. Only issued in counties or municipalities that have passed a referendum allowing the Sunday sale of beer.

#### **Brewpub Permit (PBB):**

Authorizes the sale of beer and wine, the manufacture of beer, and the consumption of these products on the permitted premises.

#### Sunday/Sabbath Beer and Wine Permit (PRB):

Authorizes the sale and consumption of beer and wine on Sunday if you close your business on Saturday for religious purposes. Only issued in counties or municipalities that have passed a referendum allowing the Sunday sale of beer.

#### **Brewery Permit (PWY):**

A brewery constructed, maintained, and/or operated in this State for the production of any beer, ale, porter, or other similar malt or fermented beverage containing no more than 14% alcohol by weight.

#### Beer and/or Wine Wholesaler Permit (PWB):

Any person who makes the first sale within this State or who sells or distributes any quantity of beer or wine to any other person for resale. Does not include any person who produces wine in the State from fruits grown within the State by or for the manufacturer.

#### **Instate Winery Permit (PWY):**

Manufactures or blends wines using fruit or berries, the majority of which are grown out-of-state. This type of winery may only sell to wholesalers, but can also ship wine to in-state and out-of-state residents if it holds a Wine Producer and Blenders Basic Permit issued by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) and has obtained a Wine Shipper's license in accordance with SC Code Section 61-4-747. It may also permit up to 24 tastings per calendar quarter including Sunday if the winery is located in a county or municipality that has passed a favorable referendum.

#### **Domestic Winery Permit (PDW):**

Manufactures or blends wines using fruit or berries, the majority of which are grown in-state. This type of winery may sell at wholesale, retail, ship to consumer homes both in-state and out-of-state, and allow on-premises consumption during restricted hours. This type of winery may also sell during restricted hours on Sunday, if the winery is located in a county or municipality that has passed a favorable referendum.

#### 7-Day Winery Permit (P7W):

Manufactures or blends wines using grapes, all of which are harvested, processed, fermented, bottled, and sold in the same contiguous location. This type of winery may sell to wholesalers, retailers, and permit consumption of wine seven days a week, during restricted hours, if the county or municipality where the sale occurs passed an ordinance permitting wine sales on Sunday under these limited circumstances. This type of winery may also ship wine to in-state or out-ofstate consumers.

#### Sports Venue Permit (PSV):

Authorizes the sale of beer, wine, and liquor for consumption on the licensed premises for an approved motorsports entertainment complex, tennis specific complex, soccer complex, or baseball complex.

#### HOURS OF OPERATION FOR BEER AND WINE PERMIT HOLDERS

- Beer and Wine Permits Generally
   SC Code Section 61-4-120: Sunday sales; exception.
  - On-premises beer and wine (PBW) or off-premises beer and wine (PBG) Can sell from Monday at sunrise until Saturday at 11:59 PM. However, an establishment that has a PBW and Business (restaurant/hotel/motel) liquor by the drink license (PLB) or Nonprofit private club liquor by the drink license (PLC) is authorized to sell beer and/ or wine during those hours in which the sale of alcoholic liquors by the drink is lawful. See Hours of Operation for Liquor License Holders for PLB and/or PLC hours.

dor.sc.gov

**Beer and Wine Permits - Off-Premises Sales on Sunday** (only in counties where the beer and wine referendum has passed, authorized by SC Code Section 61-6-2010)

- SC Code Section 61-4-510: Special retail beer and wine permits.
- 7-Day off-premises beer and wine (P7B) can sell beer and wine for off-premises consumption only (to go) seven days a week, 24 hours a day. To qualify for this license your county or municipality must have passed the beer and wine referendum, authorized by SC Code Section 61-6-2010.
- 7-Day on-premises beer and wine (PO7) can sell beer and wine for off-premises consumption (to go) seven days a week and 24 hours a day. See SC Code Section 61-4-630 for regulation of on-premises sales on Sundays. To qualify for this license you must be located in a county or municipality where both referendums were passed, authorized by SC Code Section 61-6-2010.

On-Premises Beer and Wine Permit - On-Premises Sales on Sunday (only in counties where the LOP referendum has passed, authorized by SC Code Section 61-6-2010)

- SC Code Section 61-4-630: Sunday sales.
- On-premises beer and wine (PBW) can sell beer and wine on Sunday from 12:00 AM until 2:00 AM and 10:00 AM until 11:59 PM for consumption on the premises. To qualify for this license you must be located in a county or municipality where both referendums were passed, authorized by SC Code Section 61-6-2010.
- 7-Day On-premises beer and wine (PO7) can sell beer and wine on Sunday from 12:00 AM until 2:00 AM and 10:00 AM until 11:59 PM for consumption on the premises. To qualify for this license you must be located in a county or municipality where both referendums were passed, authorized by SC Code Section 61-6-2010.

#### BEER AND WINE PERMIT REQUIREMENTS

#### On-Premises or Off-Premises Beer and Wine Permit Requirements (PBG and PBW):

- 1. On-premises or off-premises beer and wine three tier rule: No person, partner, or member may have any financial interest of any kind in any other tier of the beer, wine, or alcoholic beverage industry. For example, the applicant, partnership, or LLP seeking a retail beer and wine permit must not have a financial interest of any kind in a beer and wine wholesale business or a brewery.
- 2. On-premises permits require the location to have functioning restrooms available for use by customers.
- 3. If your business is open after 5:00 PM to sell alcoholic beverages (beer, wine, and/or liquor) for **on-premises consumption**, you must provide a copy of your liquor liability policy or general liability insurance policy with a liquor endorsement for a total coverage of at least \$1 million during the period of the biennial permit or license, per SC Code Section 61-2-145.
- 4. The cost of the biennial permit is \$600.

#### 7-Day On-Premises Permit Requirements (PO7):

- In counties and municipalities where the public has approved by referendum the sale of beer and wine to go seven days a week and the sale of alcoholic liquors on Sundays, authorized by SC Code Section 61-6-2010(C)(1) (b) and (c).
- 2. The cost of this biennial permit is \$2,200.
- 3. If you are not planning to sell "to go" on Sunday, apply for the PBW.
- 4. Visit dor.sc.gov for approved counties and cities.

#### 7-Day Off-Premises Permit Requirements (P7B):

- 1. In counties and municipalities where the public has approved by referendum, retailers may apply for a special permit that allows for the sale of beer and wine seven days a week, 24 hours a day for off-premises consumption.
- 2. The cost of this biennial permit is \$2,200.
- 3. Visit dor.sc.gov for approved counties and cities.

#### **Brewpub Permit Requirements (PBB):**

- 1. Must be a tavern, public house, restaurant, or hotel that produces on the permitted premises a maximum of 2,000 barrels a year of beer for sale on the premises. See SC Code Section 61-4-1740 for restrictions.
- 2. Must meet Department of Health and Environmental Control rules for eating/drinking establishments. See SC Code Section 61-4-1750.
- 3. Once registered you will be liable for SC beer excise tax on all beer produced. SCDOR will mail you a monthly excise tax return (L-600) to collect your payment. For more information call 803-896-1970.
- 4. The cost of this biennial permit is \$2,200.

#### Sunday/Sabbath Beer and Wine Permit Requirements (PRB):

- 1. This permit authorizes the sale and consumption of beer and wine on Sunday if you close your business on Saturday for religious purposes.
- 2. These permits are issued in counties or municipalities that have passed a referendum allowing Sunday sale of beer. Visit **dor.sc.gov** for approved counties and cities.
- 3. If you operate on Saturdays while holding this permit, the SCDOR will revoke your permit to sell beer and wine (see SC Code Ann. § 61-4-620).
- 4. The cost of this biennial permit is \$650.

#### **Brewery Permit Requirements (PWY):**

- 1. Brewery must be constructed, maintained, and/or operated in this State for the production of any beer, ale, porter, or other similar malt or fermented beverage.
- 2. Beverages cannot contain more than 14% alcohol by weight.
- 3. The cost of this biennial permit is \$400.

#### Beer and/or Wine Wholesaler Permit Requirements (PWB):

- 1. A person who makes the first sale within this State or who sells or distributes any quantity of beer or wine to any other person for resale. Does not include any person who produces wine in the State from fruits grown within the state by or for the manufacturer.
- 2. The cost of this biennial permit is \$2,200.

#### Sports Venue Permit Requirements (PSV)

- 1. Must be a motorsports entertainment complex, tennis specific complex, soccer complex, or baseball complex as defined in SC Code Section 61-6-2016.
- 2. For complete requirements, review SC Code Section 61-6-2016 at dor.sc.gov/policy.
- 3. The cost of this biennial permit is \$6,100.

#### HOURS OF OPERATION FOR WINERIES PERMIT HOLDERS

#### Wineries - Sundays

- · SC Code Section 61-4-725: Wine sales by temporary permit; authorized hours.
- · Licensed wineries in counties that allow liquor by the drink to be sold on Sunday can sell wine on Sunday for consumption on the premises from 12:00 AM until 2:00 AM and 10:00 AM until 11:59 PM.

#### WINERY PERMIT REQUIREMENTS

Wine cannot contain more than 21% alcohol by volume. Wines containing more than 16% alcohol by volume may only be sold in licensed retail liquor stores. See SC Code Section 61-4-10; 61-4-770.

#### In-State Winery Permit Requirements (PWY):

- 1. Can only sell to wholesalers.
- 2. Can ship wine to in-state and out-of-state residents if it holds a Wine Producer and Blenders Basic Permit issued by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) and has obtained a Wine Shipper's license in accordance with SC Code Section 61-4-747.
- 3. Allows up to 24 tastings per calendar quarter, including Sundays if the winery is located in a county or municipality that passed a favorable referendum. See SC Code Section 61-4-737.
- 4. The cost of this biennial permit is \$400.

#### **Domestic Winery Permit Requirements (PDW):**

- 1. May sell at wholesale, retail, ship to consumer homes both in-state and out-of-state, and allow on-premises consumption during restricted hours.
- 2. Can sell during restricted hours on Sunday if the winery is located in a county or municipality that passed a favorable referendum. See SC Code Sections 61-4-720; 61-4-725; 61-4-730; and 61-4-735.
- 3. The cost of this biennial permit is \$400.

#### 7-Day Winery Permit Requirements (P7W):

- 1. Can sell to wholesalers, retailers, and permit consumption of wine seven days a week, during restricted hours, if the county or municipality where the sale occurs passed an ordinance permitting wine sales on Sunday under these limited circumstances. This type of winery may also ship to in-state or out-of-state consumers. See SC Code Sections 61-4-120; 61-4-720; 61-4-725; 61-4-730; and 61-4-735.
- 2. The cost of this biennial permit is \$1,500.

#### LIQUOR LICENSE DEFINITIONS

#### **Alcoholic Liquors Cooking License (PAL):**

Authorizes the holder to use alcoholic liquors for cooking purposes only.

#### **Business Liquor by the Drink License (PLB):**

Authorizes the sale and consumption of alcoholic liquors on the licensed premises. These licenses are issued to **Restaurants** and **Hotels/Motels ONLY**.

#### Nonprofit Private Club Liquor by the Drink License (PLC):

Authorizes the sale and consumption of alcoholic liquors on the licensed premises. These licenses are issued **ONLY** to nonprofit organizations chartered by the SC Secretary of State Office. These locations may not be open to the general public.

#### Retail Liquor License (PRL):

Authorizes the sale of liquor "to go" only. These licenses are issued to retail locations for the sale of alcoholic liquors and/or wines containing up to 21% alcohol by volume.

#### **Liquor Manufacturer License (PML):**

A person operating a plant or place of business in this State for distilling, rectifying, brewing, fermenting, blending, or bottling alcoholic liquors.

#### **Liquor Wholesaler License (PWL):**

A person or entity that purchases or acquires alcoholic liquors from a manufacturer for resale.

#### **Micro-Distillery License (PMD):**

A person or entity who distills, blends, and bottles alcoholic liquors on the licensed premises in this State with an alcohol content greater than 17% and who produces a maximum quantity of 125,00 cases per year at the licensed premises.

#### HOURS OF OPERATION FOR LIQUOR LICENSE HOLDERS

#### Business (Restaurant/Hotel/Motel) Liquor by the Drink License

- SC Code Section 61-6-1610: Food-service establishments or places of lodging; Sunday and other time restrictions on sale of alcoholic beverages; refilling bottles.
- Business (restaurant/hotel/motel) liquor by the drink (PLB) licensees can sell liquor by the drink Monday through Friday from 10:00 AM until 2:00 AM the next morning and on Saturday from 10:00 AM until 11:59 PM. They can sell on Sundays if they have a Local Option Permit (LOP). See SC Code Section 61-6-2010.

#### Nonprofit Private Club Liquor by the Drink License

- SC Code Section 61-6-1600: Nonprofit organizations; time when sale of alcoholic beverages prohibited.
- Nonprofit private club liquor by the drink (PLC) licensees can sell liquor by the drink seven days a week between 10:00 AM and 2:00 AM the next day.

**Special License Allowing Sunday Sales at Restaurants/Hotels/Motels** (only in counties where the LOP referendum has passed pursuant to SC Code Section 61-6-2010)

- SC Code Section 61-6-2010: Temporary permits upon referendum vote.
- Business (restaurant/hotel/motel) liquor by the drink (PLB) licensees can obtain a Local Option Permit (LOP) to sell liquor by the drink on Sunday for on-premises consumption. SCDOR has exercised its discretion to specify the following terms for the Local Option Permit (LOP): Liquor can only be sold on Sunday from 12:00 AM until 2:00 AM and 10:00 AM until 11:59 PM.

#### **Retail Liquor Store License**

- SC Code Section 61-6-1500: Restrictions upon retail dealers; unlawful practices; penalties.
- SC Code Section 61-6-4160: Sunday sales; Christmas Day sales; penalties.
- Retail liquor stores (PRL) can only sell liquor for off-premises consumption (to go) Monday through Saturday from 9:00 AM until 7:00 PM.
- A licensed retail dealer with a wholesaler's basic permit issued pursuant to the Federal Alcohol Administration Act
  may sell and deliver to a person licensed to sell alcoholic liquors for on-premises consumption Monday through
  Saturday from 9:00 AM until 7:00 PM.

#### LIQUOR LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

# General Location Requirements for Business Liquor by the Drink, Nonprofit Private Club Liquor by the Drink, and Retail Liquor Store:

- 1. Your business must be at least 300 feet from a church, school, or playground if the church, school, or playground is located in the city.
- 2. Your business must be at least 500 feet from a church, school, or playground if the church, school, or playground is located in the county.
- 3. These requirements do not apply if the establishment or location was established prior to November 7, 1962 or if you are acquiring a business that is currently licensed to sell alcohol. SC Code Regs. 7-303 establishes how this measurement is conducted.
- 4. If your business is open after 5:00 PM to sell alcoholic beverages (beer, wine, and/or liquor) for on-premises consumption, you must provide a copy of your liquor liability policy or general liability insurance policy with a liquor endorsement for a total coverage of at least \$1 million during the period of the biennial permit or license, per SC Code Section 61-2-145.

#### **Business Restaurant Liquor by the Drink License Requirements (PLB):**

- 1. Your business must be primarily engaged in the preparation and serving of meals.
- 2. Your business must have seating for at least 40 people simultaneously at tables for the service of meals each day it is open for business and available in all types of weather.
- Your business must have a kitchen that is in a separate area of the business and that is used solely for the preparation and serving of solid foods that make up meals.
- 4. Your kitchen must have a working fixed grill, stove, or microwave oven.
- 5. You must have a functioning cold storage unit with a minimum of 21 cubic feet capacity.
- 6. You must have a menu or sign listing the meals offered at your place of business.
- 7. There must be adequate food on the premises of your business to serve 40 people a hot meal. Prepackaged single portioned foods prepared off premises will not count as adequate food.
- 8. You must have (or plan to have by the time you open for business) hot meals during normal "mealtimes" which occur when your business plans to be open to the public.
- 9. If such establishment advertises, a substantial portion of its advertising must be devoted to food sales.
- 10. The bar area used for storing and dispensing liquor by the drink must be lighted (or plan to be lighted by the time you open for business) so that customers have a clear view of all activities taking place in the bar area.
- 11. Your place of business must maintain a Grade A Restaurant License issued by the SCDHEC.
- 12. You must have functioning restrooms available for use by customers.
- 13. If you are selling liquor by the drink (from "big bottles" and/or you sell liquor by the drink in minibottles) you are required to pay the 5% liquor by the drink excise tax. Upon completion of the ABL registration process you will receive an information packet that includes the liquor by the drink return and procedures on paying the liquor by the drink excise tax.
- 14. The cost of this biennial permit is \$1,705.

#### Business Hotel/Motel Liquor by the Drink License Requirements (PLB):

- 1. Your business must have at least 18 rooms to rent to the public as accommodations for lodging.
- 2. The bar area used for storing and dispensing liquor by the drink must be lighted (or plan to be lighted by the time you open for business) so that customers have a clear view of all activities taking place in the bar area.
- Sales and consumption are restricted to the interior of the building and do not extend to the parking area even if food is served in these areas.
- 4. The cost of this biennial permit is \$1,705.

#### Nonprofit Organizations (Private Clubs) Liquor by the Drink License Requirements (PLC):

- This license is only available to bona fide nonprofit organizations, which are exclusively for social, benevolent,
  patriotic, recreational, or fraternal purposes, but not for profit. No earnings of the organization can be paid directly
  to any member or shareholder. The sale of alcoholic beverages should not be the main purpose of the
  organization.
- 2. The organization must have a fixed method of electing members. This method must be described in the organization's bylaws and relate to the organization's purpose in some way.
- 3. Members must pay dues on a regular basis (monthly, quarterly, or annually). These dues should be used to maintain the organization.

- 4. The organization should have an elected governing body, such as a board of directors or executive committee. Elections should occur on a regular basis (at least annually). Exceptions: Universities and similar public institutions can use a different governing body as long as this is noted in the bylaws of the organization.
- 5. If the organization ceases operations, any remaining assets must be turned over to other nonprofit organizations. No member or shareholder can be given these assets.
- Members, officers, agents, or employees of the nonprofit cannot be paid directly by the sale of alcoholic beverages, beyond any fixed salary already received. Regular salaries should be reasonable for the services actually performed.
- 7. The premises to be licensed must **not** be open to the general public and must have limited membership.
- 8. The premises to be licensed must be located in a place separate and distinct from the premises of any business establishment. This means that the location must have a separate address, separate entrance, and cannot be connected by common doors or passageways with any other business premises.
- 9. The bar area used for storing and dispensing liquor by the drink must be lighted (or plan to be lighted by the time you open for business) so that members have a clear view of all activities taking place in the bar area.
- 10. You must have functioning restrooms available for use by members.
- 11. The cost of this biennial permit is \$1,705.

#### Retail Liquor Store License Requirements (PRL):

- 1. Beginning June 1, 2018, no more than four licenses may be issued to one licensee. Beginning June 1, 2020, no more than five licenses may be issued to one licensee. Beginning June 1, 2022, no more than six licenses may be issued to one licensee.
- 2. A retail dealer must maintain a separate store or place of business with not more than two means of public entrance or exit which must be on the front or the same side of the building, except that the doors may be located at the corner of two adjacent sides of the building. One additional door, not in the front, is allowed if used solely for the receipt of commercial deliveries or an emergency exit.
- 3. Non-alcoholic merchandise is prohibited except as described in SC Code Section 61-6-1540.
- 4. Your business must be at least 300 feet from a church, school, or playground if the church, school, or playground is located in the city. Your business must be at least 500 feet from a church, school or playground if the church, school, or playground is located in the county.
  - a. These requirements do not apply if the establishment or location was established prior to November 7, 1962 or if you are acquiring a business that is currently licensed to sell alcohol. SC Code Regs. 7-300 established how this measure is conducted.
- 5. No retail liquor dealer is permitted to purchase any alcoholic liquors except from a licensed wholesale dealer in this State. The purchase, or negotiation for purchase, of alcoholic liquors from outside the State by a retail dealer is strictly forbidden. No wholesale liquor dealer is permitted to purchase alcoholic liquors for the exclusive use of any retailer.
- 6. The cost of this biennial permit is \$1,405.

# STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE APPLICATION FOR

# APPLICATION FOR RETAIL BEER, WINE, AND LIQUOR

**ABL-901** (Rev. 7/23/19) 4280

dor.sc.gov

Mail to: SCDOR, ABL Section, PO Box 125, Columbia, SC 29214-0907 File Number: . Phone: 803-898-5864 Nonrefundable Filing Fee **License Type** License Fee ☐ On-Premises Beer and Wine (PBW) \$ 300 600 biennially ☐ Off-Premises Beer and Wine (PBG) \$ 300 600 biennially \$ ☐ Brewpub (PBB) \$ 300 \$ 2,200 biennially ☐ 7-Day On-Premises Beer and Wine (PO7) \$ 300 \$ 2,200 biennially 7-Day Off-Premises Beer and Wine (P7B) \$ 300 \$ 2,200 biennially ☐ Sunday/Sabbath Beer and Wine (PRB) \$ 300 650 biennially ☐ Sports Venue (PSV) \$ 300 \$ 6,100 biennially ☐ Business (restaurant/hotel/motel) Liquor by the Drink (PLB) \$ 200 \$ 1,700 biennially ☐ Nonprofit Private Club Liquor by the Drink (PLC) \$ 200 \$ 1,700 biennially ☐ Retail Liquor Store (PRL) \$ 200 \$ 1,400 biennially ☐ Alcoholic Liquors Cooking License (PAL) \$ -0-\$ 250 biennially ☐ 120-Day Temporary Beer and Wine (TBW,TBG,TO7,T7B) \$ -0-\$ 25 \*120-Day Temporary Liquor by the Drink (TLB,TLC) \$ -0-\$ 25 \$ 25 \$ -0-\$ \$ -0-5

PRINT ALL INFORM	MATION
1. Legal entity name or sole proprietor	5. Trade name (doing business as)
2. Physical location of business (no PO box)	6. Business phone number Principal daytime phone number
Street	7. FEIN/SSN
City County (REQUIRED) State ZIP	
3. Mailing Address	8. Nature of business
Designated Agent	
Street	9. Sales Retail License Number
City County State ZIP	
4. Type of ownership	10. Email
Sole Proprietor Partnership	
LLC/LLP SC Corporation Date of inc:	11. Is the business within SC municipal limits?
☐ Foreign corporation	Yes No If yes, which city?
State inc: Date of inc:	12. Has this location been previously licensed to sell beer, wine, and/or liquor?
Other (explain):	☐Yes ☐ No
If the corporation is publicly traded, an officer or other employee must be designated to hold the license. This person must be of good moral character, over the age 21, and an SC resident. This person should be included on the ABL-946 along with any other principals of the corporation.  Name of designated officer or other employee:	If yes, provide the following:  A. Previous Alcohol Beverage License number  B. Name of business
	(Full organization name including trade name)

<sup>\*</sup> A certification fee is required in addition to filing fees if you are applying for a temporary license at a location with a Liquor by the Drink or Retail Liquor Store License. (SC Code Section 61-6-120.)

#### **DESIGNATED AGENT**

You must designate a person to receive all notices from the SCDOR concerning your license and/or permit. These notices will be
sent to the person at the mailing address provided in question 3. It is your responsibility to keep the SCDOR informed of any change
of designated agent or mailing address as the law will presume you received all notices sent to the address you have given us.

Name of Designate	ed Agent	
	CON	TACT PERSON
The		oal listed on the ABL-946, Consent and Waiver. to submit a Letter of Representation.
seeking a license and/		ill need to meet with the contact person at the location for which you are wnership of the business. Provide the name and phone numbers (daytime ED agent for this purpose.
Name of Contact P	Person	
Phone Number		(daytime)
Phone Number		(evening)
If the agent is unab		e Contact Person cannot discuss the ownership of the business, your
	Il applications that are denied	cess. If the application is denied by the SCDOR this process or have been protested are subject to a hearing with the
which this application and liquor permits and Chapters 2, 4, and 6	n is being filed. For a general sum and licenses, see ABL-975. Beer,	s under South Carolina law for the license and/or permit type for imary of the qualifications and legal requirements for beer, wine, wine, and liquor are governed by SC Code of Laws Title 61, a 20 Chapter 7, and Title 33 Chapter 42. Regulations are found in a sections at dor.sc.gov/policy.
I understand that a license and/or permi	misstatement or concealment of fa	ct in an application is sufficient grounds for the revocation of the are that I have read and understood this form and the information I
SWORN to and subso	cribed before me this	
day of	, year of	
-		Principal's Signature
	es:	'r
	9)	
Notary (printed name).		

### **Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure**

It is mandatory that you provide your Social Security Number on this tax form if you are an individual taxpayer. 42 U.S.C. 405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a state to use an individual's Social Security Number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-201 mandates that any person required to make a return to the SCDOR must provide identifying numbers, as prescribed, for securing proper identification. Your Social Security Number is used for identification purposes.

#### dor.sc.gov

# STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE APPLICANT AND PRINCIPAL CONSENT AND WAIVER

**ABL-946** (Rev. 7/9/19) 4422

#### What you need to know

- The SCDOR cannot issue a license and/or permit to anyone that owes delinquent taxes, penalties, or interest.
- If an entity who is not an individual applies for a license and/or permit, all principals of the entity must also apply. See SC Code Sections 61-2-160 and 61-2-100 at **dor.sc.gov/policy**.
- To apply, you must allow information about your South Carolina taxes to be shared with any party.
- The information that may be shared includes, but is not limited to, information about delinquent taxes, penalties and interest, outstanding liabilities, or information concerning failure to file returns.
- You are waiving your rights under SC Code Sections 12-54-240 and 30-2-1. You can read the full code sections at dor.sc.gov/policy.
- Anyone applying for a license and/or permit authorizes SC Law Enforcement Division (SLED) to perform a criminal records check. SCDOR has the right to share that information with other principals or applicants to process the application or any renewal.

Complete a Consent and Waiver for each principal. Use the applicable number below for each principal.

#### **Principal Types:**

- 1. The owner (for sole proprietors only)
- 2. All officers of the business or entity which owns the business
- 3. All partners (limited partners that cannot exercise management control do not need to sign)
- 4. All persons who own 25% or more of the value of the business or entity
- 5. All persons who own 25% or more of the combined voting power of the business or entity
- 6. A manager of a limited liability company which is managed by managers
- 7. A member of the limited liability company which is managed by members
- 8. Any fiduciary who manages, controls title, or is otherwise in control of the business
- 9. All employees who will have day-to-day operational management responsibility for the business or entity
- 10. The designated license holder (designated agent) of a publicly traded corporation (must be a resident of SC)
- 11. All other principals not specified above. If not a publicly traded corporation, list all stockholders.
- 12. All officers and directors of a nonprofit organization

#### **Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure**

It is mandatory that you provide your Social Security Number on this tax form if you are an individual taxpayer. 42 U.S.C. 405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a state to use an individual's Social Security Number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-201 mandates that any person required to make a return to the SCDOR must provide identifying numbers, as prescribed, for securing proper identification. Your Social Security Number is used for identification purposes.

			File Number:
Legal entity name or sole proprietor		FEIN/SSN	
Name			
Home Address (No PO Box)			
City	State	Zip	
Month/Date/Year of SC Residency		Date of Birth	
SSN	FEIN	ν	
Principal Type (1-12; see page 1)	Perc	cent of Ownership	
Have you as an individual, or as an organ revoked or suspended in this state or any cYesNo If yes, you mus Have you been convicted of a crime in SouYesNo If yes, you mus	other state?  st attach an explanati  oth Carolina or any other	i <b>on</b> . er state?	ense to sell beer, wine, or alcoholic liquors
SWORN to and subscribed before me thi day of, year of Notary Public for My Commission Expires: Notary (legal signature) Notary (printed name)	or no lid	n this form. It may be	er is effective as of the date sworn revoked in writing by signing and SR, or until the applicable permit or revoked.
		Princ	cipal's Signature
Name			
Home Address (No PO Box)			
City	State	Zip	
Month/Date/Year of SC Residency		Date of Birth	
SSN	FEIN	N	
Principal Type (1-12; see page 1)	Perc	cent of Ownership	
Have you as an individual, or as an orgar state any license to sell beer, wine, or alcol Yes No <b>If yes, you mus</b>	holic liquors?		ed or suspended in this state or any other
Have you been convicted of a crime in SouYesNo If yes, you mus	•		
SWORN to and subscribed before me thi day of, year of  Notary Public for  My Commission Expires:  Notary (legal signature)  Notary (printed name)	no lic	n this form. It may be	er is effective as of the date sworn revoked in writing by signing and SR, or until the applicable permit or revoked.
, , <del>,</del>	<u> </u>	Princ	cipal's Signature

1350 dor.sc.gov

# STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE VERIFICATION OF LAWFUL PRESENCE IN THE UNITED STATES - APPLICANT AND PRINCIPALS

**ABL-920** (Rev. 7/3/19) 4382

Each principal who is an individual must complete this form, as required by SC Code Section 8-29-10 and Title 61.

The undersigned	of .
The undersigned Print clearly first, middle, and last name	of, Home address (no PO boxes)
being to the control of the co	first duly sworn deposes and states as follows:
	s, list:
Check ONLY one box: See Instructions and Definitions	for accepted documents. Principals must be at least 21 years old.
☐ 1. I am a United States Citizen.	
☐ 2. I am a Legal Permanent Resident.	
3. I am a <b>Qualified Alien</b> under the Federal Imn	nigration and Nationality Act, Public Law 82-44.
4. I am a <b>Foreign Citizen</b> , and resident of	Country of residency
	Country of residency
and reside atStreet address	City, state, and ZIP
5. Other (Explain):	
Date of Birth	Alien Registration Number
MUST ATTACH A COPY O	F ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS
renewal. Any change in immigration or citizenship status m statement on this affidavit is a felony punishable by fines and Under penalty of perjury and recognizing that I am sub	nse application will be denied. This affidavit will also apply during any nust immediately be reported to the SCDOR. Willfully making a false d/or imprisonment.  ject to the criminal and civil penalties imposed by Title 12 of the nined this Affidavit and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it
Principal's Signature	
SWORN to and subscribed before me this	
day of, year of	
Notary Public for	
My Commission Expires:	
Notary (legal signature)	
Notary (printed name)	

#### Instructions and Definitions

#### Check box 1 -

If you are a **US Citizen** by birth or naturalization.

#### Check box 2 -

If you are a **legal permanent resident** and you are not a US citizen, but are residing in the US under legally recognized and lawfully recorded permanent residence as an immigrant.

PROVIDE A COPY OF ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS.

#### Check box 3 -

If you are a qualified alien. You are a qualified alien if you are:

- · an alien who is lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the INA;
- an alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA;
- a refugee who is admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA;
- an alien who is paroled into the United States under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA for a period of at least 1 year;
- an alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the INA (as in effect prior to April 1, 1997) or whose removal has been withheld under Section 241(b)(3);
- an alien who is granted conditional entry pursuant to Section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1, 1980;
- an alien who is a Cuban/Haitian Entrant as defined by Section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980;
- an alien who has been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty, or whose child or parent has been battered or subject to extreme cruelty.

PROVIDE A COPY OF ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS.

#### Check box 4 -

If you are a nonimmigrant and you are an alien who seeks temporary entry to the US for a specific purpose. The alien must have a permanent residence abroad (for most classes of admission) and qualify for the nonimmigrant classification sought. The nonimmigrant classifications include: foreign government officials, visitors for business and for pleasure, aliens in transit through the US, treaty traders and investors, students, international representatives, temporary workers and trainees, representatives of foreign information media, exchange visitors, fiancé(e)s of US citizens, intracompany transferees, NATO officials, religious workers, and some others. Most nonimmigrants can be accompanied or joined by spouses and unmarried minors (or dependent) children. **PROVIDE A COPY OF ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS.** 

#### **Accepted Immigration Documents:**

- Unexpired Foreign passport with I-551 stamp or attached INS Form I-94 indicating unexpired employment authorization
- Alien Registration Receipt Card with photograph (INS Form I-151 or I-551)
- Unexpired Temporary Resident Card (INS Form I-688)
- Unexpired Employment Authorization Card (INS Form I-688)
- Unexpired Reentry Permit (INS Form I-327)
- Unexpired Refugee Travel Document (INS Form I-571)
- Unexpired Employment Authorization Document issued by the INS which contains a photograph (INS Form I-688B)

dor.sc.gov

## STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

#### NONPROFIT PRIVATE CLUB AFFIDAVIT

**ABL-958** (Rev. 7/3/19) 4571

EIN/SSN
Entity Name
rade name (doing business as)
Business address
Alcohol Beverage License Number

By signing this affidavit, you are agreeing to operate by the following Codes and Regulations. Read the full code sections at **dor.sc.gov/policy**.

#### SC Code Section 61-6-1600

- A. A nonprofit organization licensed by the SCDOR can sell liquor by the drink to members and their guests for consumption on the licensed premises between the hours of 10:00 AM and 2:00 AM the following morning.
- B. Sale or consumption outside these hours is a violation against the organization's license.

#### SC Code of Regulations 7-401.4

- A. This license is only available to bona fide nonprofit organizations, which are exclusively for social, benevolent, patriotic, recreational, or fraternal purposes, but not for profit. No earnings of the organization can be paid directly to any member or shareholder. The sale of alcoholic beverages should not be the main purpose of the organization.
- B. The organization must have a fixed method of electing members. This method must be described in the organization's bylaws and relate to the organization's purpose in some way.
- C. Members must pay dues on a regular basis (monthly, quarterly, or annually). These dues should be used to maintain the organization.
- D. The organization should have an elected governing body, such as a board of directors or executive committee. Elections should occur on a regular basis (at least annually). Exceptions: Universities and similar public institutions can use a different governing body as long as this is noted in the bylaws of the organization.
- E. If the organization ceases operations, any remaining assets must be turned over to other nonprofit organizations. No member or shareholder can be given these assets.
- F. Members, officers, agents, or employees of the nonprofit cannot be paid directly by the sale of alcoholic beverages, beyond any fixed salary already received. Regular salaries should be reasonable for the services actually performed.
- G. All nonprofit license applications must include:
  - 1. A certified copy of the organization's charter, articles of incorporation, or constitution;
  - 2. A copy of its bylaws;
  - 3. A list of officers and directors, including names, ages, current mailing addresses, and employers.
- H. After receiving a license, organizations must also file with SCDOR:
  - 1. Any changes in board of directors, executive directors, or similar governing body. Changes must be received within 30 days of effective change;
  - 2. Any changes in the constitution, articles of incorporation, bylaws, and membership during the last 12 months;
  - 3. A financial or profit and loss statement for the last calendar or fiscal year with each license renewal application; and
  - 4. A sworn statement by an authorized officer of the organization that it is still being operated on a nonprofit and limited membership basis.
- I. Once licensed, the organization must keep the following records on premises and available for inspection by SCDOR or SLED representatives:
  - A complete membership record showing date of application for any proposed member, the date of admission after election, the date dues are paid, the amount paid, and the member's correct mailing address; and
  - 2. All books and records of the organization's business activities, including income record, expenditure record, and bank account information.

- J. Only members and guests of members can consume alcoholic beverages on the licensed premises.K. Guests are limited to those accompanied by a member, or for whom the member has made prior arrangements with the organization's management.

I,, upon being first duly sworn, upon penalty of perjury, do hereby acknowledge and affirm that the above mentioned business is a bona fide nonprofit organization and will operate pursuant to Regulation 7-401.4 and Section 61-6-1600.		
SWORN to and subscribed b	efore me this	
day of	, year of	
Notary Public for		Principal's signature
My Commission Expires:		
Notary (legal signature)		
Notary (printed name)		Principal's printed name

## STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

**ABL-957** 

(Rev. 7/3/19) 4570

#### dor.sc.gov

## PURCHASE OF ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR AFFIDAVIT

FEIN/SSN	
Trade name (doing business as)	
Alcohol Beverage License Number	
l,	, upon being first duly sworn, upon penalty of perjury, do hereby
acknowledge and affirm that all a	alcoholic liquors at the location above have been or will be purchased from
a licensed South Carolina Wholes	saler, pursuant to SC Code Section 61-6-195.
SWORN to and subscribed before me	
	Principal's signature
Notary Public for	Principal's signature
My Commission Expires:	<del></del>
My Commission Expires: Notary (legal signature)	

Important: Read full Code Sections and Regulations at dor.sc.gov/policy.

- The applicant can only purchase alcoholic liquors from authorized, licensed wholesalers. SC Code Section 61-6-195
- "Wholesaler" means a person who purchases, acquires, or imports from outside this state or who purchases or acquires from a manufacturer in the state alcoholic liquors for resale. SC Code Section 61-2-20(12)
- Retail liquor dealers can only purchase alcoholic liquors from a licensed wholesale dealer in this State. The
  purchase, or negotiation for purchase, of alcoholic liquors from outside the state of South Carolina is not
  allowed. Wholesale liquor dealers cannot purchase alcoholic liquors for the exclusive use of any retailer. SC
  Code Regs. 7-300.2