PREP Merchant Education Training Video Script

MENU
Chapter One	Introduction
Chapter Two	Legal Issues:  Understanding South Carolina’s Alcohol and Tobacco Laws
Chapter Three	Preventing Illegal Sales
Chapter Four	Refusing the Sale – Off-Premise Location
Chapter Five	Refusing the Sale – On-Premise Location
Chapter Six	Techniques to Prevent Service of Alcohol to Underage Patrons
Chapter Seven	Identifying Grossly/Obviously Intoxicated Patrons – On-Premise Location
Chapter Eight	Managing the Volume of Consumption by Customers
Chapter Nine	Closing


[bookmark: _GoBack]B ROLL FOOTAGE TO INCLUDE VAPE SHOP AND LIQUOR STORE


Chapter One	Introduction

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

NARRATOR:	Problems resulting from the use of alcohol and tobacco kill far too many people every year. And, tragically, many of these problems could have been prevented.

One of the best ways to prevent problems of this nature is to keep alcohol and tobacco out of the hands of our children. If we can keep today’s kids from starting to smoke, we’ll see a tremendous reduction in the number of adults who are hooked later in life. The same is true for alcohol. The majority of people who smoke cigarettes and drink alcohol start using these substances at a young age, typically during their teenage years. According to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, individuals who begin smoking at a younger age are more likely to develop nicotine dependence and have trouble quitting, and young people who start drinking before age 15 are four times more likely to develop alcoholism than those who began drinking at age 21. Our goal is to keep alcohol and tobacco out of the hands of our kids until they are old enough to purchase these substances legally. And by “legally,” we mean 21 years of age.

As business owners, managers, clerks, servers or bartenders, you play an important role in this process. It’s your job to make sure you don’t sell alcohol or tobacco to minors or sell or serve alcohol to those who are obviously intoxicated. You have both a legal and a social responsibility to uphold the law. If you break the law, you could be fined; you could lose your job; you could end up in jail; and your business could lose its license to sell these products in the future.

There are many steps you can take to ensure that your business upholds the law.


[IMAGES OR SHOTS OF SIGNS AT CONVENIENCE STORE AND/OR RESTAURANT LOCATIONS WITH VO]

As a start, you can make sure that your establishment prominently displays appropriate signs in its doors and windows – as well as close to the checkout counter or bar – that clearly state the laws about alcohol and tobacco sales.

[IMAGE OF NEW BROCHURE WITH VO]

It’s also a good idea to have additional information on hand to give to those customers who might need further details about the laws and the penalties. This information can be very helpful in those instances when you have to refuse a sale to an underage – and often unhappy – customer.


Chapter Two	Legal Issues:  Understanding South Carolina’s Alcohol and Tobacco Laws

[“BULLET” FINES, ETC., ONSCREEN WITH VO]

What are the laws in South Carolina?

It’s against federal law for anyone to sell any type of tobacco product to anyone under the age of 21. This includes cigarettes, cigars, cigarillos, electronic cigarettes, pipe tobacco, snuff, chewing tobacco and rolling papers.

Violations for underage sales in South Carolina are punishable by a fine of over $300 for a first offense.  For a second and/or subsequent offense, the penalty is a fine of over $500, imprisonment for up to 30 days – or both. In place of a fine, the court may require an individual to successfully complete a merchant tobacco-education program approved by the South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services.

It’s also against the law in South Carolina for anyone to sell any type of alcohol product to anyone under the age of 21. This includes beer, wine, malt beverages, wine coolers and distilled liquor.

Violations are punishable by a fine of over $300 for a first offense and over $500 for a second and/or subsequent offense; imprisonment for up to 30 days – or both.  In addition, violators must complete a state-approved merchant education program.

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

Any business caught violating these laws will face closer scrutiny and possibly tougher penalties. Business owners can even face the possibility of losing their license to sell alcoholic beverages in the future. Right here, in South Carolina, law enforcement authorities are using trained teenagers to participate in undercover compliance checks of retail establishments.

The kids are using their own IDs when attempting to make underage purchases, and it’s amazing how many employees have been charged simply because they didn’t ask for and properly check the ID.

When someone comes up to the counter to purchase alcohol or tobacco, ask yourself whether the individual is at least 27 years old; if not, ask for and properly check the ID.


Chapter Three	Preventing Illegal Sales

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

So what do you look for in an ID?

In South Carolina, there are several types of IDs that are legal and acceptable, and all must include a current photograph. Fake IDs are everywhere these days, and some of them look pretty good.

[IMAGES OF FAKE IDs WITH VO]

[IMAGES OF LEGAL IDs WITH VO]

That’s why you should only accept one of the following:
· a valid state-issued driver’s license;
· a valid state-issued personal identification card – again, the key here is that it’s state-issued, not something that can be ordered through the mail;
· a valid U.S. government-issued passport or military ID

State-issued driver’s licenses and personal ID cards will always have the following:
· the name of the issuing government agency
· the name and signature of the person
· the date of birth of the person
· the physical description and photograph of the person
· a valid date – not an expired ID

U.S. government-issued passports and military IDs will not include a physical description, and a military ID may not include a signature, but they are still satisfactory as long as they contain all other features of an acceptable ID.

How do you verify a customer’s age

Here in South Carolina, we’ve gone an extra step to help our salespeople identify potential underage purchasers.

[IMAGE OF ID GRAPHICS WITH VO]

First, state-issued personal ID cards are clearly marked if the cardholder is underage. In addition, our state-issued driver’s licenses are vertical for those who are under 21 when the identification or license is issued. When someone hands you a vertical license, that’s your signal that you need to take just a few extra seconds to ensure that the sale is legal. So, if you see a vertical license, just stop for a moment and do the math.

[IMAGE OF IN-STORE CALENDAR WITH VO]

Many businesses have access to calendars or other resources that show today’s date as the date of birth required for someone to purchase these products.  If your business has one, use it to help ensure that the sale is legal. If your business doesn’t have one, take a moment to do the math. If the numbers don’t add up, refuse the sale.

[IMAGE OF AGE-VERIFICATION EQUIPMENT WITH VO]

Another helpful tool that businesses can use to help staff with the process of checking IDs is age-verification equipment. There are several different types of equipment that can be purchased. Most of them are terminals that can read the information stored on the driver’s licenses and state ID cards. The ID is read, and the machine calculates the owner’s age, displaying the information on a clear and easy-to-read screen. While this type of equipment is an important tool to have in place, employees should not become dependent on the machine to do their job, because even machines are subject to errors.  It is still your responsibility to check the ID, verifying that it is valid and that it matches the person purchasing the product.  If not, then refuse the sale.

[VO WITH SHOTS OF CLERK DEMONSTRATING EACH STEP OF THE SYSTEM AND THE STEP THEY ARE SHOWING DEPICTED IN TEXT]

Let’s take a look at the FLAG system for checking IDs:

F - Feel
· Have the person remove the ID from their wallet or holder.
· Feel the ID’s texture for any raised areas that might indicate alteration.
· Inspect the ID’s edges. They should be smooth and rounded around the entire card. Lifted corners might be a sign of a fake ID. 
· Check the lamination for any signs of tampering. Is it bubbling up or peeling?

L - Look
· Look closely at the ID to make sure it’s real.
· Look for the key features specific to South Carolina IDs.
· Make sure the photos match the person who is making the purchase.
· Look to see whether the birth date has been altered in any way.
· Look at the expiration date. If the ID has expired, it is not acceptable.

A - Ask
· Ask questions of the person, such as their middle name, ZIP Code, address information, or the month they were born.

G - Give Back
· Always return the ID. In South Carolina, only law enforcement officers can legally confiscate IDs.

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

If you have any doubt about the ID, ask for a second one. If the customer doesn’t have another ID, refuse the sale.

And if you ask for a customer’s ID and they don’t have it with them, you need to do the same thing:  refuse the sale.


Chapter Four	Refusing the Sale – Off-Premise Location

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

Let’s take a look at the following scenarios, and see if you can identify the points where the employee is demonstrating the REFUSE system outlined in the PREP manual.

SCENARIO #1

(Underage female customer wearing a face mask approaches counter with an appropriate six-pack and places it on the counter.)

CUSTOMER:	I’ll take this, and…some gum.  (reaches for gum and places it on the counter beside six-pack)

CLERK:	No problem.  ID, please?

CUSTOMER:	Yes.  (removes ID from bag/pocket and hands it to clerk)

CLERK:	Thank you.  Would you mind lowering your mask?

(Customer lowers face mask. Clerk nods after confirming that customer matches photo, but continues examining ID.)

CLERK:	I don’t know…It looks like your ID has been tampered with.  Do you have another form of ID?

CUSTOMER:	No, I don’t.

(Clerk gestures for a co-worker to come over, then shows the co-worker the customer’s ID.  The co-worker examines the ID, then shakes his/her head.)

CLERK:	I’m so sorry.  I’m afraid I can’t sell you this.

CUSTOMER:	Oh, come on…I’m 21.

CLERK:	I’m sorry.  The store could get in a lot of trouble if I sell to someone without proper ID. (removing six-pack from the counter) Do you still want the gum?

CUSTOMER:	Are you kidding me?  No.  (shoots the clerk a dirty look and leaves)

CLERK:	Sorry.

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

Now, let’s take a look at a similar situation in a vape shop.

SCENARIO #2

(Underage male customer approaches vape shop counter with a pack of vape cartridges and places it on the counter.)

CUSTOMER:	I’ll take these.

CLERK:	Sure.  May I please see your ID?

CUSTOMER:	Yeah, no problem.  (hands ID – in a holder – to the clerk)

CLERK:	I’m sorry, would you mind taking it out of the holder?

CUSTOMER:	Why?

CLERK:	Well, I’m required to fully inspect all IDs, and I can’t do that while it’s in the holder.

CUSTOMER:	That’s ridiculous.  You can still see it’s my picture on the front.

CLERK:	I’m sorry.  I could get in trouble if I sell to someone without properly checking their ID. (hands ID back to customer and removes vape cartridges from the counter)

CUSTOMER:	Whatever.  There are plenty of other places that aren’t so uptight.

(Clerk shrugs as customer leaves.)

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

Whew – Those were rough. Look, the customers weren’t happy, but the clerks handled things professionally and – didn’t make the sale. There are no exceptions to this rule, and you have to always take the time to carefully check IDs – no matter how many customers are involved.

SCENARIO #3

(Several underage youth exit the same vehicle, enter a convenience store, disperse to select their individual beverages, hand them to one member of their group, then all approach the counter.  The lead youth places the items on the counter.)

CLERK:	Hi.

CUSTOMER #1:	Hey

CLERK:	May I see your ID, please?

CUSTOMER #1:	Sure.  (removes ID from bag/pocket and hands it to clerk)

CLERK:	(carefully examines ID, then returns it to Customer #1)  OK, thank you.  (looking at the other youth)  May I see your IDs, please?

CUSTOMER #2:	Why?  We’re not buying anything.

CUSTOMER #1:	(indicating the items on the counter) Yeah, these are all mine.

CLERK:	Maybe that’s true, but just to be safe, I still need to see everyone’s IDs. 

(The youth exchange glances.)

CUSTOMER #1:	Seriously?  Forget it.  We’re gonna take our business somewhere else.

CLERK:	(looks at next customer)  Fine.  May I help the next customer in line?

(The youth head for the exit, leaving the beverages on the counter.)

SCENARIO #4

(Two or three cars park in front of a liquor store.  Male and female teens get out of the cars, and the teens give money to one of the males.  While the others hang around outside, the male with the money goes into the store, selects a 1.75-liter bottle of vodka from a shelf, and takes it to the counter.)

CLERK:	That going to be all for you?

CUSTOMER:	Yep.

CLERK:	ID?

CUSTOMER:	Here you go.  (removes ID from wallet or holder and hands it to clerk)

CLERK:	(carefully examines ID, then returns it to Customer)  OK, looks good.  (looks out toward the youth in the parking lot)  Could you ask your friends to come in so I can see their IDs?

CUSTOMER:	Uh – I’m not with them.

CLERK:	Well, it sure looked like y’all were together when I watched you pull in.  Just to be safe, I should see everyone’s IDs.  Sheriff’s deputies patrol here all the time, and I don’t need any problems.

(Alarmed, Customer quickly leaves the store without saying anything.  Clerk watches as Customer quickly explains to the other teens, gesturing toward the store as he talks.  All the kids get in their cars and drive away.)

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

But what if an adult comes into the store and tries to make an alcohol or tobacco purchase for some kids outside? Tip-offs can be that a customer selects multiple brands during a single purchase, or if you have seen the underage kids approach the adult customer outside the store.

What should you do?  First, ask the customer if the products are for someone underage.  If he or she answers “yes,” explain that it’s against the law for you to sell alcohol or tobacco products to minors, even if someone else is buying for them.  Finally, explain that it’s against the law for them to purchase and transfer the product to the minors and that they can be fined, imprisoned and/or lose their own driver’s license for a first offense.  Then, as always, refuse the sale.

SCENARIO #5

(Establishing shots of kids approaching adult before he enters the store and clerk observing through the storefront window)

(Adult customer approaches the counter.)

CUSTOMER:	Hey.

CLERK:	Hi.

CUSTOMER:	Hey.  How are you?

CLERK:	I’m great.  How are you?

CUSTOMER:	Good, good, good.  Um, I need some cigarettes with this too, please.  I need a pack of Marlboros, a Blue Camel, and Newports.

CLERK:	Really?  You know, there are some kids hanging out in the parking lot who were trying to buy those brands earlier.

CUSTOMER:	Oh?

CLERK:	Yeah.  I couldn’t sell to them, you know, because they’re underage.

CUSTOMER:	Oh, I didn’t know that.

CLERK:	Actually, if I did, two things would happen.  One – I would lose my job.  And also, I’d get fined.

CUSTOMER:	Really?

CLERK:	Yeah.

CUSTOMER:	I didn’t know that.

CLERK:	Actually, I don’t know if you know this, but if someone else were to buy cigarettes for them, they would get fined too.

CUSTOMER:	Really?  Wow, I didn’t know that.

CLERK:	Yeah, I’ve actually seen it happen.

CUSTOMER:	I didn’t know it was such a big deal.  Thanks for the tip.  Um, could I just have the Marlboros, please?

CLERK:	OK, sounds good.

(Customer leaves the store, giving the kids back their money as he heads for his car.)

[VO WITH ONSCREEN SCENARIO]

Now, what if a kid tells you that the purchase is for their mom?  Just remember the law, and tell them that their mom must make the purchase herself.  Even if you can see the adult waiting in the car, you’d still be making an illegal sale, because you would be exchanging the product for the money with the minor – not the absent parent.  Then – you guessed it – refuse the sale.

These five scenarios contained several examples of the clerk using the REFUSE system.  Let’s review the steps of that system and see how the clerk used this technique.

[VO WITH SCENES FROM THE SCENARIOS IN WHICH CLERK DEMONSTRATES THE STEPS OF THE SYSTEM]

R - Recognize the need to check for a valid ID when alcohol is placed on the counter or tobacco is requested. Also, recognize the need to refuse the sale if the ID is not valid for the person making the purchase. [SCENARIO #4 – CLERK ASKING TO SEE ID – “R – RECOGNIZE AND REFUSE” APPEARS ON SCREEN]

E - Eliminate the product from the counter. [SCENARIO #2 – CLERK REMOVING VAPE ITEMS FROM COUNTER – “E – ELIMINATE” APPEARS ON SCREEN]

F – Be firm, yet polite.  Politely inform the customer that you aren’t able to make the sale.  Don’t embarrass the customer or be rude. [SCENARIO
#1 – CLERK OFFERING GUM – “F – FIRM” APPEARS ON SCREEN]

U - Unite. Ask for help from other employees or your manager. Know your store’s policy for dealing with this type of situation. [SCENARIO #1 – CLERK DISCUSSING ID WITH CO-WORKER – “U – UNITE” APPEARS ON SCREEN]

S - Shift your attention to the next customer. [SCENARIO #3 – CLERK LOOKS TO NEXT CUSTOMER – “S – SHIFT” APPEARS ON SCREEN]

E - Enter the occurrence in the establishment’s incident log. [VAPE SHOP CLERK WRITING IN INCIDENT LOG – “E – ENTER” APPEARS ON SCREEN]

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

The clerk in the scenarios handled the situations professionally and used the REFUSE system. Remember, if an incident occurs, the final step would be to enter the information in the store’s incident log. It is very important to properly document any situations that arise.


Chapter Five	Refusing the Sale – On-Premise Location

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

Alcohol is the most widely used substance among America’s teens and young adults, posing substantial health and safety risks. Teens try alcohol for a variety of reasons – to exert independence, to feel more carefree, or to escape from stress, peer pressure and even boredom. Many tend to do so without fully recognizing alcohol’s negative effects or health risks. As a result, underage drinking is one of our state’s most pressing health issues, and you play an important role in preventing the sale of alcohol to underage patrons. Let’s take a look at a few ways to properly handle underage patrons in your establishment:

SCENARIO #6

(An underage female individual walks into an establishment and sits at the bar.)

BARTENDER:	Hi.

PATRON:	Hi.

BARTENDER:	What can I get for you?

PATRON:	Can I get a strawberry daiquiri, please?

BARTENDER:	Yeah, sure.  Do you have an ID?

PATRON:	Sure.

(Patron hands bartender her ID)

BARTENDER:	Thanks.  (examining ID)  Do you have another form of ID with you?

PATRON:	I don’t.

BARTENDER:	No?  OK.  Can you hang on one second?  I’m sorry.  (talking over the crowd noise) Sam!

(Bartender gestures for a co-worker to come over, then shows the co-worker the patron’s ID.  The co-worker examines the ID, then shakes his/her head.)

BARTENDER:	Hey, listen, I’m sorry, but I can’t serve you.  I’m sorry.

PATRON:	I promise it’s good.

BARTENDER:	Well, it looks like it’s been tampered with.  So, I’m sorry, but we just can’t serve you.  Can I get you a Coke or…?

CUSTOMER:	You – are – kidding me.

BARTENDER:	No, I’m sorry.

CUSTOMER:	I’ll just go somewhere else.

BARTENDER:	Have a good night.

CUSTOMER:	(shooting the bartender a dirty look) Thanks.

(Bartender turns his attention to another patron.  The underage patron leaves.)

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

Comes with the territory.  See, the patron wasn’t happy, but the bartender handled things professionally and didn’t serve her.


Chapter Six	Techniques to Prevent Service of Alcohol to Underage Patrons

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

Next, let’s take a look at a few techniques that your establishment can use to identify of-age versus underage patrons.

SCENARIO #7

(A group of college students – a mixture of underage and of-age patrons – approaches the door to an establishment.  The bouncer is checking IDs at the door and handing out wristbands to identify those who are of legal age.)

NARRATOR VO:	This is a great technique for establishments to use, but remember, the liability is ultimately on the server – even if IDs are checked at the door. Wristbands or some other type of visible identifiers that are not easily removed – like an “X” drawn on the back of a hand – are great, but remember to always check IDs before serving patrons.

(Cut to server inside the club asking for and checking IDs before serving patrons – even though they are wearing wristbands.)

NARRATOR VO:	Once again, as the server, it is ultimately your responsibility to ask for and properly check all customers’ IDs before serving them alcoholic beverages…even if your establishment has other practices in place, such as bouncers checking IDs at the door or using wristbands to identify patrons who are of legal age.  Remember, it’s your responsibility to check each patron’s ID.

SCENARIO #8

(Two individuals – one of-age and the other underage – get carded at the door of a club.  The bouncer marks the underage patron’s hand with an “X.”  After they enter the club, the younger patron wipes off the “X.”  They then stand at a tall pedestal table.)

PATRON #1:	Alright, man.  Go to the bathroom.  I’ll get the beer.

PATRON #2:	OK.  Hey, can you get me a Bud Lite?

PATRON #1:	You got it.

(The underage patron leaves the table before the server arrives.)

SERVER:	Hello.

PATRON #1:	Hey.

SERVER:	How are you this evening?

PATRON #1:	I’m great.  How are you?

SERVER:	I’m doing just fine.

PATRON #1:	Can I get two Bud Lites?

SERVER:	Sure.  May I see your ID?

PATRON #1:	(handing the server his ID)  There you go.

SERVER:	Thank you.  (checks to ensure that the ID is valid)  And, do you have someone joining you this evening?

PATRON #1:	Yeah – my friend.  He’s just in the restroom.

SERVER:	No problem – I’ll be right back with those Bud Lites.

(Server returns promptly with the beers.)

SERVER:	Here you go. (looks around for Patron #2, sets down one beer for Patron #1, then starts to leave with second beer)

PATRON #1:	Oh, excuse me, you forgot my friend’s beer.  He’s just in the restroom.

SERVER:	I can’t leave the beer with you.  I have to check his ID as well.

PATRON #1:	Come on, he’s legal.  I mean, he’s older than me.

SERVER:	I’m sure he is legal, but I have to check his ID in order to serve him.  But don’t worry, I’ll be back in a few minutes.

PATRON #1:	No.  You know what?  Don’t bother.  (placing money for the one beer on the table and leaving)

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

The server handled this situation professionally.  Again, it’s your responsibility to check each patron’s ID.  

These two scenarios contained several examples of the establishment using the REFUSE system. Let’s review the steps of that system and see how the employees used these techniques.

[VO WITH SCENES FROM THE SCENARIOS IN WHICH EMPLOYEES DEMONSTRATE THE STEPS OF THE SYSTEM]

R - Recognize the need to check for a valid ID when an alcoholic beverage is ordered, as well as to refuse the sale if the ID is not valid. [SCENARIO #6 – BARTENDER ASKING TO SEE ID, THEN REFUSING TO SERVE – “R – RECOGNIZE AND REFUSE” APPEARS ON SCREEN]

E - Eliminate the alcoholic beverage from the situation.  [SCENARIO #8
– SERVER LEAVING WITH BEER INTENDED FOR ABSENT PATRON – “E – ELIMINATE” APPEARS ON SCREEN]

F – Be firm, yet polite.  Politely inform the patron that you aren’t able to serve them.  Don’t embarrass the customer or be rude.  [SCENARIO #6 –BARTENDER EXPLAINING THAT HE CAN’T SERVE THE PATRON AND OFFERING A SUBSTITUTE BEVERAGE – “F – FIRM” APPEARS ON SCREEN]

U - Unite. Ask for help from a co-worker.  Know your establishment’s policy for dealing with this type of situation.  [SCENARIO #6 – BARTENDER DISCUSSING ID WITH CO-WORKER – “U – UNITE” APPEARS ON SCREEN]

S - Shift your attention to the next patron. [SCENARIO #6 – BARTENDER TURNS ATTENTION TO ANOTHER PATRON – “S – SHIFT” APPEARS ON SCREEN]

E - Enter the occurrence in the establishment’s incident log. [NEW FOOTAGE – SERVER WRITING IN INCIDENT LOG – “E – ELIMINATE” APPEARS ON SCREEN]

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

Remember, underage drinking is a problem in our state, and you can do your part to keep alcohol out of the hands of our youth by taking the time to properly check the IDs of all patrons before serving alcoholic beverages.  So check for yourself – and uphold the law.


Chapter Seven	Identifying Grossly/Obviously Intoxicated Patrons –
On-Premise Location

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

There is a chance that someone might attempt to order a drink from the bar when they are obviously intoxicated. It is against the law to serve beer, wine, or liquor to an intoxicated person, or to allow a grossly intoxicated person on your premises.  Let’s take a look at this type of situation, and see how the server handles it.

SCENARIO #9

(Patrons in restaurant are sitting around the bar and having a good time. The bartender is serving them drinks, when another customer walks in the door and up to the bar. This person appears to be stumbling a little, but makes it to the bar to order a drink.)

DRUNK PATRON: Hey, what’s up?

BARTENDER:	Hey, how you doing?

DRUNK PATRON:	Alright, how you doing?

BARTENDER:	Alright, good.

DRUNK PATRON:	Give me a rum-and-Coke.  Hey – light on the ice.

BARTENDER:	OK.  Can I see your ID?

DRUNK PATRON:	(laughing at the idea that he doesn’t look old enough to drink) Well, thank you. (more serious, but still in a good mood) You don’t need my ID.  Hey, just give me a rum-and-Coke.

BARTENDER:	Well, actually, I do need to see your ID to serve alcohol.  Let me get you a Coke.

DRUNK PATRON:	No, I don’t want that.  I want a rum-and-Coke.

BARTENDER:	Here you go.  (placing the Coke in front of the patron)  Listen, I can’t get you a rum-and-Coke.  I’m sorry.  (attempting to redirect the conversation)  Let me get you a menu.  We’ve got great specials tonight.
– wings and fries…

DRUNK PATRON:	No, no, I’m not hungry.  (looking at the other patrons)  What’s going on?
Did he card you guys?  (back to bartender)  Hey, just fix me a drink.

BARTENDER:	I’m not gonna be able to get that for you.  OK?  And it seems like maybe you’ve had a few before you got here, so I’m going to go ahead and call a ride for you and make sure that you get home safely.  OK? (calling over the female manager, who approaches the intoxicated patron – accompanied by a bouncer – and escorts him away from the bar)

[VO AS SCENARIO ENDS]

Remember, in this situation it is recommended that you do not serve the patron an alcoholic beverage. Instead, offer an alternative, such as food or a non-alcoholic beverage. Another good policy is to provide the customer with an arrangement that will keep the person from having to drive.

It is important for establishments to make every effort to prevent intoxicated customers from harming themselves or others.


Chapter Eight	Managing the Volume of Consumption by Customers

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

Before we can begin to understand the technique of drink counting that is described in the PREP manual, we must answer one important question: What is “a drink”?

[VO WITH SHOT OF THREE TYPES OF “STANDARD DRINK” ON A BAR]

The current “Dietary Guidelines for Americans,” published by the U.S. Departments of Health and Human Services and Agriculture, define a drink as one 12-ounce bottle of beer or wine cooler; one 5-ounce glass of wine; or 1.5 ounces of 80-proof distilled spirits.

[VO WITH SHOT OF STANDARD DRINK SIZES NEXT TO “REAL-LIFE” SIZES {16-OZ. MUG/GLASS OF BEER; WINE GLASS FILLED TO BRIM; MIXED DRINK WITH A LITTLE MORE THAN ONE SHOT OF LIQUOR}]

Although these are the standard drink sizes, it is important to note that many establishments serve drinks that are larger than the standard size. Therefore, when serving a customer a larger beverage, you are serving them more alcohol, and this should be remembered as you implement the drink-counting technique outlined in your manual.

There are also a few other things to keep in mind as you are serving alcoholic beverages to your customers.

[VO WITH SHOT OF INGREDIENTS FOR “LONG ISLAND ICED TEA” {VODKA, GIN, RUM, TEQUILA, TRIPLE SEC, COLA, LEMONS}]

Many special drinks on your menu may have two or more liquors in one drink. Although you may only be serving your customer one glass, this glass contains more than one drink! The number of drinks in that one glass depends not only on the amount of alcohol contained in the drink, but also the “proof” of the liquor. The higher the proof, the higher the number of standard drinks in one glass. One-and-a-half ounces of liquor can range anywhere from just a little more than one drink to almost three drinks, depending on the proof of the liquor. It is important to keep this information in mind when serving your customers.

Now, let’s take a look at a technique for managing the consumption of alcoholic beverages by customers in your establishments.

SCENARIO #10-Happy Hour  [MOVE THIS ALONG FASTER]

(Patrons enter establishment and take seats at a table. Server comes to table.) Add graphics about how body processes alcohol-show time it takes to absorb

SERVER:	Hey, ladies.  What can I get started for you?

PATRON #1:	I’ll have a Corona.

PATRON #2:	Chardonnay.

PATRON #3:	Long Island Iced Tea.

SERVER:	OK.  I’ll be right back.

(Server leaves table….Quick fade out and back in to server returning to table with drinks and popcorn/snack.  Fade out again to screen that shows passage of 15 minutes.  Server returns to table, where patrons are chatting.)

SERVER:	We’re still doing OK over here?

PATRON #1:	Let’s have another round.

(Server goes to bar and gives order to bartender, then thinks while bartender fills order…)

BARTENDER:	So how’s it going out there?

SERVER:	You know, I think I should slow this one group down…This might be the last drink I serve them this hour – especially the one with the Long Island Iced Tea.

(Server returns to table with drinks and menus.)

SERVER:	OK, ladies.  Next round here….chardonnay, Long Island Iced Tea, and your Corona…and here are some menus.  I’ll be happy to take your orders whenever you’re ready.

(Fade out to screen that shows passage of 10 minutes.  We’re now 25 minutes past the time that the first drinks were served.  Server returns to table with glasses of water.)

SERVER:	Alright, ladies, I brought you guys some water.  Have you had a chance to look at the menus?

PATRON #3:	Yes, I think we’re ready to order – and we’ll want another round.

(Fade out as server begins taking orders, then fade up on server returning to bar.)

SERVER:	Hey, can I get another Corona and a chardonnay, please?  Hang on with the Long Island Iced Tea.  I think she needs a couple minutes.

BARTENDER:	Oh, alright.  Good job.

(Fade out and back in to screen showing passage of 35 minutes since serving of first drinks. Server gets Corona and chardonnay from bartender and goes to wait for food.  Fade out to screen showing passage of 25 minutes – one hour since first drinks were served. Server returns to table with the food, Corona and chardonnay – but not the Long Island Iced Tea.)

SERVER:	Alright, guys.  Here’s your food…your Corona…your chardonnay.  The bar is a little backed up with mixed drink orders, but I’ll be back as soon as I can with your Long Island Iced Tea.

(Screen shows passage of one hour and 15 minutes since first drinks were served.  Server returns to table with Long Island Iced Tea and glasses of water.  She then returns to the bar and speaks to the bartender.)

SERVER:	Alright, let all the other servers know that Table 3 is a “yellow” table.

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

The server handled this situation in a professional manner.  She offered the customers food at the appropriate time. She also communicated the situation to the bartender, who will share it with the other servers. It is important for all members of the staff to know which tables may be “red,” “yellow” or “green” tables. Remember – food and time are the only factors that you, as a server, can control to slow down the process by which alcohol is absorbed into the bloodstream. The “traffic light,” CUT and REFUSE systems described in the PREP manual can be effectively used to monitor your customers’ alcohol consumption.


Chapter Nine	Closing

[NARRATOR ON SCREEN]

The bottom line of PREP is that you have the right to refuse to sell alcohol or tobacco to anyone – not just minors.

Just remember, the underage use of alcohol and tobacco products is a serious problem that needs all of our attention. We know that the earlier an individual starts smoking tobacco or drinking alcohol, the greater are his chances of experiencing problems related to these substances later in life. Young people who begin drinking before age 15 are four times more likely to develop alcohol dependence and are two and a half times more likely to become abusers of alcohol than those who begin drinking at age 21.

Prevention is the key. And those of you who own, manage and work in establishments where alcohol or tobacco products are sold or served play a major role in making sure that our laws are upheld. It’s up to all of us to work together to reduce the illegal sale of alcohol and tobacco products to minors and to avoid overserving anyone who is obviously intoxicated.

Please help us keep alcohol and tobacco out of the hands of our children. Your job, your safety – even your freedom – depend on it.
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